# Twenty-Third Annual JSU Writers Bowl Winners

### Jacksonville State University Oct. 31, 2018

#### **Prose**

First Place:

RhymeScream (Ohatchee High School)

Jakob Williamson (captain)

Cassia Rissler Brianna Bailey Rachel Christopher Charles Harrell Olivia Nunnally (Mrs. Ford, sponsor)

### Second Place:

The Rutabegas (White Plains High School)

Tanner Kughn (captain) Samantha Jímenez Laney T. Smith Hayden Williams (Jennifer Baker, sponsor)

## Third Place:

CATastrophe (Fort Payne High School)

Hannah Atchley (captain)

Brandy Martinez Taylor Fountain Ansley Smith Kaelyn Mosher Lily Meadows

(Angie Maxwell, sponsor)

# **Poetry**

First Place:

Gatsby's Old Sports (Scottsboro High School)

Abby Harrison (captain)

Haley Brady Mackenzie Hass Isabelle Flores Skylar Farr

(Amanda Wilbanks, sponsor)

# Second Place:

Oops, I Wrote It Again (Southside High School)

Sydney Hill (captain) Hayden Davis Hudson Hopper Chloe Ledford Carley Holman Houston Payne

(Ashley Stapleton, sponsor)

Third Place:

Team Piedmont (Piedmont High School)

Tyler Farmer (captain) Katelyn Langley Daisha Flint Cloie J. Grimes Lauryn Langley Juniper Hicks

(Leah Odam, sponsor)

### **Overall Team**

First Place:

Oops, I Wrote It Again (Southside High School)

Sydney Hill (captain) Hayden Davis Hudson Hopper Chloe Ledford Carley Holman Houston Payne

(Ashley Stapleton, sponsor)

### Second Place:

The Rutabegas (White Plains High School)

Tanner Kughn (captain) Samantha Jímenez Laney T. Smith Hayden Williams (Jennifer Baker, sponsor)

## Third Place:

Gatsby's Old Sports (Scottsboro High School)

Abby Harrison (captain)

Haley Brady Mackenzie Hasss Isabelle Flores Skylar Farr

(Amanda Wilbanks, sponsor)

# **Individual Essay**

First Place:

Jesse Beck (Oxford High School)

(Yevett Word, sponsor)

Second Place:

Terika Miller (Oxford High School)

(Yevett Word, sponsor)

Third Place:

Alexis Gray (Oxford High School)

(Yevett Word, sponsor)